Menu Home

Spring Forward

Spring-Forward

How are the bloggers springing forward into career preparation?

ff

Trishnee Bhurosy

This semester can only be described in one word: HECTIC! Yet, amidst school, work, and types of deadlines, there have been small progresses on my career preparation front. One of my abstracts has been accepted for presentation in the SNEB conference while I am awaiting responses from other competitive ones. In addition, I am always in search of interesting internships on Jobs @ IU or on the Office of Career Services website. As such, I am currently preparing for an upcoming interview at the Office of Sustainability. Last, but not the least, the pilot phase of my summer research study is taking place during spring.

fffff

Erika Wheeler

One of my greatest passions is promoting food security, whether it be at a food pantry stocking shelves and coordinating donations, or in a garden growing food and teaching self-sufficiency. To have a career within this field is my ultimate dream! So, to help make that dream a reality, I have been jumping at every opportunity for experience within the field that I get. Most recently, this has led me into the position of Donations Coordinator for the Crimson Cupboard IU student food pantry and the Garden Coordinator for the Rooftop Garden at Middle Way House. The invaluable experience that I am gaining through these volunteer positions will undoubtedly help me achieve my dream of working in the field of food security!

unnamed

Shannen Keene

I am springing forward by utilizing the Office of Career Services! My resume is at its best and I am actually prepared for interviews, thanks to scheduling a mock interview! Additionally, I am staying connected with past professors who have helped me pave the way with my career interests. This spring, I am attempting to be more ambitious as I apply for a variety of programs like FoodCorps, AmeriCorps, and various research workshop opportunities. No time to fall back now!

 

d

Brandon Jones

As a college student, I have subscribed to the theory that warmer spring weather doesn’t just mean you get to dust off the hammock and lounge around outside (not that there’s anything wrong with that). This is also what I like to call “summer internship season.” If you want to get some experience under your belt and haven’t applied to any summer jobs or internships, now is definitely the time. I for one have tried to be very proactive with my internship search this semester, and have already secured two positions for the summer. I am always looking for interesting positions, whether it be through LinkedIn or a site for sports jobs like TeamWork Online. Best of luck to you this internship season!

r

Rachel Brown

I have been updating my resume and actively looking for internships for the summer. I have reached out to previous supervisors and the Career Services advisors for advice and guidance in my search. I am hoping to get an internship that will allow me to put what I’ve learned in the classroom to use.

 

 

s

Ally Hunt

I am “springing forward” by applying for internships and looking into volunteer opportunities for this summer. I would love to find something that is related to the health field and would give me the opportunity to help others. I can’t wait to see where I am placed this summer!

Categories: Careers

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

