Menu Home

Speed Dating with Myers-Briggs

hearts-banner-580x117

The Myers-Briggs Personality Type Indicator has become a popular tool in the professional and personal world, providing individuals with a framework in understanding the nature of who they are. With this test, there are sixteen different personality types which are represented in four letters. The MBTI® Manual: A Guide to the Development and Use of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator® explains the letters as the following:

  • Information: Do you prefer to focus on the basic information you take in or do you prefer to interpret and add meaning? This is called Sensing (S) or Intuition (N).
  • Decisions: When making decisions, do you prefer to first look at logic and consistency or first look at the people and special circumstances? This is called Thinking (T) or Feeling (F).
  • Structure: In dealing with the outside world, do you prefer to get things decided or do you prefer to stay open to new information and options? This is called Judging (J) or Perceiving (P).

Ultimately, the Myers-Briggs test gives you an insight into your type’s strengths/weaknesses, communication style, career options, relationships, values, and motivations. With Valentine’s Day coming up, we asked the question: Am I compatible with my type’s associated careers?

Trishnee: INTJ (Introversion iNtuitive Thinking Judging)

INTJs are confident and are knowledgeable about a variety of issues. Alongside being known as perfectionists, INTJs also possess lots of imagination and are very reliable, and hardworking. They tend to be extremely private people and do not engage in small talk. Typical INTJ careers are in the sciences and engineering. They can also be found wherever a combination of intellect and incisiveness is required. Generally, they are successful in careers requiring intellectual efforts such as in technological companies, research and development, as corporate lawyers, or high- and mid-rank managers in technology companies and financial situations. I was pleasantly surprised! I am certainly an introvert in most situations and I tend to think a lot. This does describe me to a large extent since I am currently into research as a doctoral student. In the past, I have been proficient in managerial positions as well and I am a strong believer in hard work. Though, I would like to say that I do not see myself working in a technological company or being in charge of financial situations.

Erika: INFJ (Introversion iNtuitive Feeling Judging)

I was very surprised (and a little creeped out) by how well the mini personality test seemed to pinpoint me! The description of the INFJ personality type – “dreamer”, “doer”, “humanitarian”, “susceptible to emotional overload…”  – was eerily spot-on. I was thankful for this seemingly intimate grasp of my being as I read through the INFJ career choices and found that my 4 years at IU were justified! As humanitarians, INFJ’s do well in social and community care services. And thank goodness, because that’s where me and my Community Health degree are headed!

Shannen: INFJ (Introversion iNtuitive Feeling Judging)

INFJs are known as “the advocate” whose purpose in life is to help others. They seek deep connections, morality, and perfectionism (for better or for worse!). For this personality type, corporate jobs are not ideal. Instead, careers in healthcare, counseling, and sciences are where INFJs thrive. After reading endless descriptions, I was amazed at its accuracy. I typically find it difficult to describe myself to others but if you wanted to know how I see the world, just look up “INFJ.” The fields listed match perfectly with my current academic route- public health! I truly believe this career path will allow me to fulfill my goal of impacting the lives of others. Of course, I could never picture myself in a corporate job- potential loss of identity and purpose.

Rachel: ISTJ (Introversion Sensing Thinking Judging)

I have taken the Myers-Brigs test a few times, and I always get identified as an ISTJ. Every time I read the description, I find it to be fairly accurate. ISTJs are known for their integrity and practicality, as well as their dedication to duty. They make decisions based on facts and logic. They are dependable and responsible, and they take a lot of pride in the work they do. The careers associated with ISTJs include ones steeped in tradition, ones that include working alone, and ones in which roles and responsibilities are clearly defined. Suggested jobs include: lawyer, policeman, judge, accountant, detective, military leader and business executive. While I do not plan on pursuing any of these careers, I do think I will pursue positions that align with the characteristics listed above. I tend to gravitate towards leadership and management roles, and that is reflected in my personality type.

Ally: ISTJ (Introversion Sensing Thinking Judging)

After taking the personality test, I ended up with ISTJ: Introverted, Sensing, Thinking, and Judging. This quiz completely nailed me on the head. When reading the description of the personality, I felt like I was reading a synopsis of myself on my computer screen. The most interesting part of taking this quiz though was seeing that aspects of my intended future career were listed. As I have stated before, I would love to work for a government organization to do research and promote health lifestyles. Natural strengths for ISTJs that would be imperative to have for my dream career would be good understanding of details, clear-cut planning, and responsibility to name a few. After taking this quiz, I am relieved and happy to get validation that I am on the right career path.

Brandon: ESTJ (Extroversion Sensing Thinking Judging)

“ESTJs thrive on order and continuity…their focus involves organization of people, which translates into supervision.” This type make good mid- and high-rank managers and executives. Business management, military, and politics are some of the most common fields for this type. As for my reaction, I have always thought of myself as an introverted person, so I was surprised that the test showed otherwise (although it is only a slight preference). The other dimensions, however, fell in line with my expectations, and I am glad that the test indicates that I could be a good manager someday. I would definitely say my type is a match for what I want to do in my career in sports.

Elizabeth: ENFJ (Extroversion iNtuition Feeling Judging)

Common ENFJ descriptions include:

  • “ENFJs have the ability to be tenacious and energetic, not at all easily discouraged when they truly believe in a person, a project or have a dream they wish to be fulfilled.”
  • “They live in the world of people possibilities.”
  • “Because their strongest interest lies in being a catalyst of change in other people, they’re likely to interact with others on their own level, in a chameleon-like manner, rather than as individuals.”

So, I’m fabulous. Like any other personality type description, the positive qualities mentioned are numerous, and the negatives are always accompanied by a caveat on how you can use them for good. For example: “ENFJs have great ability to manipulate others as they have mighty interpersonal skills that they employ… blah blah blah.” Would that be concerning to anyone else? Or the fact that my best fit careers include counseling, psychology, social work, and education, which are literally working-with-people-professions? Luckily, I’m off the hook with a sentence that came right after acknowledging my manipulation skills – “Their warm charisma permits them to escape being considered manipulative as they are seen as sincere, nurturing and helpful…etc etc.” Mixed feelings on this. Thankfully, I’m going into a career that perfectly combines aspects of the four careers I mentioned above, with it’s own flair: hello recreation therapy. Which perfectly coincides with the fact that it’s international recreation therapy month! Go RT!

 

Categories: Careers

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

1 reply

Leave a Reply

