Menu Home

Ciao from Florence!

duomo

The Duomo- located in the heart of Florence

I am currently writing from my apartment that is in the heart of the city and I am enamored with Florence. As I have shared earlier, I am so fortunate to be studying abroad in Florence Italy this semester. I couldn’t be more in love with this city and I can’t wait to discover new things everyday. While I am here, I hope to grow more as an individual and make advances in my personal and professional life that will help me in my oh-so-near career filled future.

 

To keep myself in check, I want to share some goals that I have for this semester:

  1. Gain a new perspective on the ways of life in Italy. I’m not gonna lie, its been hard adjusting to a slower pace here. Everyone here takes life as it comes and there is no rush. Sometimes I think I get so caught up in classes, finding an internship, and my future that life gets away from me. I hope that while I am here, I can slow down and learn to appreciate life as it comes.
  2. Expanding my comfort zone. Living across the world from all my family and friends in foreign place is definitely outside of my comfort zone. While I am here though, I still want to step out and try new things. I want to make friends with a local café barista, volunteer at a children’s school, and try different kinds of food. I want to submerse myself into the beautiful Italian culture.

    piazzale

    View from the Piazzale Michelangelo

  3. I want to visit the headquarters of World Food Programme in Rome. I have become fascinated with the World Food Programme. It is the world’s largest agency fighting worldwide hunger. They are a part of the United Nations and in emergencies; they work diligently to get food to those in need. WFP also helps communities through food to help bring their souls back to life. I would love to be able to visit the headquarters because someday I would love to work for the World Food Programme or an organization like it. It is my hope that I would find a job that helps those in need and I believe the WFP would be an incredible way to live out that career dream. You can find out more information on the World Food Programme here.wfp

I can’t wait to look back at this list and see what all I was able to accomplish with this semester abroad. I hope I have grown as an individual that will be ready to enter the career field and fell confident in entering that next stage in life.

Arrivederci!

sAlly Hunt is a junior from Zionsville, IN currently completing her degree in Community Health. She’s a lover of animals, traveling, and all things Beyonce. Even when life throws her curve balls, she’s grateful to be in the game!

Categories: Abroad Programs

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

