Menu Home

Why I’m Thankful

large_soverythankful

Sports Marketing and Management

d

Brandon Jones

I am thankful for my major because it is giving me the opportunity to pursue a career in an industry that I have always been very passionate about. Not all career paths have college degrees that are so specifically tailored to them and for that I am grateful. Being a Sport Marketing and Management major at Indiana University has allowed me to meet and work with professors and other students that share the same passion for the various aspects of the sports industry. In this time of the semester when finals are looming on the horizon, it is nice to be able to take a step back and be grateful for my major.

Community Health

s

Ally Hunt

I am thankful for the opportunity to bring my passion for health to the world around me, no matter how big or small. I am grateful for the wonderful staff that is a part of the School of Public Health community that has made me grow as a student and an individual. I am so thankful that I have been given the resources to fulfill my dream of helping others and I hope that someday, I can help fulfill someone else’s dreams too.

sss

Quanisha Morrow

I am thankful for my major for many reasons. Community health is important because it is essential to all mankind in order to sustain life. I am especially passionate about this field of study because it is pertinent in the elimination of health disparities in underprivileged populations. Community health is the foundation of all health and initiatives/ policy implementations have saved the lives of many people in our lives.

unnamed

Shannen Keene

I am thankful for Community Health because it embodies my beliefs and values in life. It encourages me to  fully understand an individual or population- to work with them. It has opened my eyes to our country’s many health disparities and ignited an internal duty to directly impact those issues. More importantly, this major has reminded me that small efforts can have large impacts. I truly believe it has made me an informed citizen and equipped me to make a difference in the world.

fffff

Erika Wheeler

I am thankful for Community Health because it teaches me to look at the whole picture of health – whether it be the health of an individual or a community. It teaches that health is more than the absence of disease, but rather the state of physical, mental, and social well-being. Most importantly, it has given me the tools to work toward the goal of health and wellness for all. Here’s to the health and wellness of you, your family, and your community this holiday season!

Health Behavior

ff

Trishnee Bhurosy

Having struggled with weight-related issues on a personal level in the past, I am thankful for having chosen my current major. My academic journey started with studying eating behaviors among different populations in my country – Mauritius and currently, as a graduate student at Indiana University School of Public Health, I have the opportunity to study these same behaviors in a fresh perspective and from a more research-oriented realm. Over the past 3 months, I can truly say that learning has taken a new meaning for me since the learning experience has been very different from what I have been used to. I could not be happier for having chosen to study Health Behavior at IU.

Recreation Therapy 

e

Elizabeth Terry

I’m thankful for choosing recreation therapy because I’ve found a field through IU that, otherwise, I might never have discovered. It’s a unique healthcare perspective that I’m excited to share with others and motivated to continue learning about. It’s also a perspective that has been missing from mainstream awareness and being a young profession, has so much potential to grow. Besides this are the individuals I’ve met because of my major – whether it’s been volunteering out in the community or through the hours spent in class. After spending almost three years together with the same 40 or so people, I’ve managed to not get sick of them and instead have become closer with some of the kindest, quirkiest, and most inspiring people I’ve ever met – and for that, I will always be thankful.

Health Education

r

Rachel Brown

I am thankful for my degree program because it is allowing me to pursue my passion in a way I didn’t know would be possible. I’m blending my desire to help others with my passion for health. I can’t think of a more exciting or fitting career for myself besides health education.

Categories: Life Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

