Menu Home

Meet our New Blogger: Trishnee

trishneeTrishnee Bhurosy

Year: First year PhD student

Major: Health Behavior

Hometown: Phoenix, Mauritius

Career Goal: I hope to work for the CDC organization, specifically for the Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.

I come from Mauritius which is a tiny tropical island located to the south east of Africa. I did both my undergraduate degree and my masters in Nutritional Sciences at the University of Mauritius. Having been on the negative side of the weighing scale for many years, my venture into the nutritional sciences was no coincidence. As I embarked on the nutrition journey, my outlook on weight-related problems began to change. Since then, remaining fit rather than trying to fit into the “normal” weight category has been my mantra!

My interest in public health was ignited by two main factors. Firstly, there is clearly a lack of public health professionals in my country. Secondly, non-communicable diseases account for 60% of total mortality in Mauritius. My goal, after the completion of my doctoral studies, would be to gain valuable experience in international health promotion at the CDC for some years and then, to return back to Mauritius where I could best put my acquired knowledge and skills to practice.

I chose to come to Bloomington because similarly to Mauritius, it is a melting pot of cultures. As a first year PhD student, my aim is to open myself to the various opportunities the School of Public Health has to offer. Whether it is for the purpose of peer-reviewed journals or simply putting my thoughts on paper on a daily basis, I enjoy writing. Aside from writing, my hobbies include Zumba dancing, cooking, spending time with my brother and my pet Simon, reading romantic books and watching horror movies.

I look forward to get more involved with the School of Public Health through this blog and to be able to communicate to others on health issues and events which matter.

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

2 replies

Leave a Reply

