Menu Home

Meet our New Blogger: Rachel

Rachel Brownrachel

Year: 1st Year Graduate Student

Degree: Master of Public Health

Concentration: Professional Health Education

Hometown: Columbus, IN

Career Goal: I hope to work as a health educator in a hospital or clinical setting.

The most important thing you need to know about me is that I take my television and my food very seriously.

All jokes aside, I am thrilled to be doing my graduate studies at IU. I grew up about an hour east of Bloomington and came to football games all throughout my childhood. I was raised a Hoosier and it feels right to be on campus if only just for a little while. You should also know I did my undergraduate studies at Butler University in Indianapolis. I studied English Literature and French and was very involved on campus. Most importantly, I was part of a peer health education group and I was a Resident Assistant. My involvement in these two activities led me to discover my passion for wellness and health education. When I realized that I could be a health educator when I grew up and get paid to do it, I knew that an MPH was the next best step for me.

rache 2

As for my interests, I love going out to eat, watching TV, traveling and exercising. Right now I’m very into Downton Abbey and Parks and Recreation. I’m not sure how I missed either when they started. I just finished Parks and Rec this summer, and I’m in the middle of Downton Abbey season two right now. Violet is my favorite, hands down. In addition to all the TV I watch, I make exercising a priority in my life. I am obsessed with group fitness classes because: 1) someone else plans the workout, 2) the schedule keeps me accountable and 3) I am pretty competitive.

You can expect to read more from me about pop culture, food, fitness, wanderlust and most importantly, finding a job. Thanks for reading!

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

1 reply

Leave a Reply

