Menu Home

Once a Hoosier, Always a Hoosier

image005

One of the last few pictures I have take before leaving campus 4/5/15

image006

One of my favorite things to do was go to El Bistro and get waffles. My favorite was a strawberry waffle with cookies and cream ice cream drizzled in chocolate syrup and powdered sugar.

As my last post, I exit with a reflection on graduation and my time at IU. I cannot even fathom the idea of graduating. I have had so many people tell me it goes by so fast and to enjoy every minute. I have truly had quite the experience here at IU. I feel like it was just yesterday my parents were dropping me off at Teter, and I was dreading saying good-bye to them. I remember so clearly sitting on my bed, wondering what a freshman like myself would have done. I walked down the hall and made friends with my floor mates. After freshman year, I had considered transferring because second semester had been really hard for me; I wasn’t happy. I told myself to stick it out for just one more year; and I am so glad that I did. Between switching my major three times, struggling to understand Chemistry, hating bio, losing friends and making new ones, Little 500, IU basketball and getting older, I have finally reached the point of being able to wear a cap and gown and receive my diploma.

image007

This was taken last winter–I really just wanted to get a Sample Gates picture!

image008

I loved dressing up with my friends for themed parties

image013

The IU Field Hockey Club team was a huge part of my life at IU

image012

This is from this past IUDM where I anchored live with one of my best friends.

As I sit here and look back on my time at IU, I am grateful for so many different things. I am grateful for my parents letting me choose to go to IU, a school that is out of state and a little far from home. I am grateful for all the people I was able to meet throughout my time here, the incredible people I have become friends with for life. I am grateful for IU basketball, one of the reasons I fell in love with sports, and Victor Oladipo. I am grateful for every single lesson I was taught, inside and outside of the classroom. I am grateful for every opportunity I was given, and all the freedom I had in choosing my major, my classes, and the extracurricular opportunities IU offers. I am grateful for the IU Club Field Hockey team, because I truly felt apart of something for four years. I am most of all grateful for spending the last four years at the most beautiful campus I could have ever imagined. As students we are so lucky that no matter what season it is, IU is beautiful no matter what.

 My favorite place was the puppy store in the mall, because who doesn't love puppies?!


My favorite place was the puppy store in the mall, because who doesn’t love puppies?!

image010

I remember being on spring break in St. Thomas in March of 2011 decided that I wanted to commit to IU; and now here I am, class of 2015, just as I stated four year ago.

I have the idea in my head that I was so ready to graduate, but I’m not so sure anymore. I was so set on going home and being back in New York, and being able to see my puppy, and of course my family. When I get home, I have a job interview, but part of me wants to just stay in college a little bit longer. As May 9 approaches and I try to move out of my house, I am starting to feel sad about leaving. I know there will be times when I can come back and visit, but it’ll be a different time in my life seeing as I won’t be a student, but an alumna. As big as IU is, I have managed to make it small and homey, and as different as it has been to live in Bloomington, I wouldn’t trade it for anything else.
I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to write for the Careers Services in the School of Public Health. It really is one of those advantages we should all take, and not let college just pass you by. For all of the seniors who read this: Congrats class of 2015, we made it! To the underclassmen who read this: It truly does go by faster than you can ever expect, each year goes by more quickly. I hope that you take every single opportunity to heart and use them to your image015advantage. Do the things you aren’t used to, or aren’t comfortable with, because when image014you are graduating, you will be glad you did them. College is the time for you to live, and don’t pull back the reigns when you are contemplating running in the nearly naked mile (I did). Enjoy the time while you have it and remember the amazing campus you have the privilege of stepping on, as well as the amazing school we go to. Once a Hoosier, always a Hoosier.

JilianSixsmith-Cox_BioPicJillian Sixsmith-Cox is a senior majoring in Sport Communication, with a focus in Telecommunications. She was born and raised in New York City and currently loving her time in the best college town ever. She loves to travel, hang out with friends and take photos. Her passion is playing sports and she enjoy to making other people laugh.

Categories: Graduation

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

