Menu Home

Book Recommendations

If you’ve read some of my previous blog posts, you can probably guess that I absolutely love to read books. So, for this post, I will be writing about three awesome books that have really inspired me to make some positive changes in my life. I thoroughly enjoyed these books and can give them my wholehearted recommendation!

  1. Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeown9ca58e82f2091638f3dea63ce6236ad7

Greg McKeown’s whole argument hinges on the idea that everyone can be more productive if they remove unnecessary things from their lives and focus on doing just a couple of things that will help them reach their life goals.

I was really inspired as I read this book. In a way, it helped me give myself permission to not take on too many things, however worthwhile those things may be. Instead, I was motivated to cut quite a few things out of my schedule that weren’t helping me move toward my biggest goals for this year.

  1. The Willpower Instinct: How Self-Control Works, Why It Matters, and What You Can Do to Get More of It by Kelly McGonigal Ph.D.

thWell, the full title pretty much covers everything, but this book is all about helping people make better choices in terms of their health, money, personal relationships, priorities, goals, and work. Kelly McGonigal provides numerous tips and strategies that empower readers to make better choices rather than the choices that are convenient, unhealthy, and/or unhelpful in the long-term.

Despite the gravitas of the title, this is a very funny book. The author’s sense of humor is sarcastic – similar to my own. I found myself chuckling throughout. And, in spite of the all the cited research, this book never drags or gets bogged down in laborious details and statistics. And the strategies to increase willpower are not difficult or lengthy which is awesome for this busy graduate student.

  1. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles Duhiggpower-of-habit-660x1002

This book is all about how people develop their habits, why people have habits in the first place, and how people can effectively make the change from bad or mediocre to awesome!

I have to confess: I did struggle to motivate myself to start this book, but each chapter kept drawing me in and further increasing my interest. It’s rare for me to find a non-fiction book that is almost impossible to put down but this was one for me. Lots of helpful charts as well; the author also didn’t bog me down in statistics.

 

 

Miriam23Miriam Boyken is a third-year graduate student at Indiana University. She is currently working toward her Master’s degree in Kinesiology with emphases in Applied Sport Science and Physical Activity, Fitness, & Wellness. She recently started her own personal training business and hopes to grow it by leaps and bounds after she graduates in 2016. She is also happily married and enjoys distance running.

 

Categories: Career Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

