Menu Home

Looking for a job in the Sports Industry?

If you’re like me (and as I have stated in previous posts), you’re looking for a job. I’ve struggled with the process a bit, but I have found it becomes easy when you know exactly what you are looking for. Get that down pat, know what field you want to enter before you start your job research. Look at various qualifications for different jobs you might be interested in and see which best fits you. The Internet is a very good tool for job searching. Although a large parentage is in the “hidden” jobs, meaning someone you know through networking offers you a job, not found online, that doesn’t mean it is your only option. I am going to share with you a couple of the tools I am currently using in my job search process for sport entry-level jobs. There are a lot of websites that post jobs for sports, but there are only a few sources you need to keep in mind.

  1. Teamworkonline.comtwologo1

This website posts jobs from so many different leagues, it is amazing how many different opportunities they offer. Visit the website and type in the area code you want to work in and it will find you jobs in your area. For example if I type in my area code, 10025 in New York, I get a list of job postings from the Atlantic League, the Brooklyn Nets, College sport jobs, IMG, Learfield, MLB, and many more. In weighing my options, boom, I found and job in ticket sales for the Brooklyn Nets I feel best fits my qualifications. You can also search by job title or pick form various categories from a drop down menu.

Teamworkonline also posts live job postings on the homepage in different areas of the United States, which I think is really cool. If you are looking for a job in sports, I would definitely use this website. There are other websites specifically geared toward sports jobs as well, but this website is number one. Not only do I have positive experiences from using it for a couple years, but I have had a number of people who work in the sports field tell me this website is number one.

  1. Indeed.com

I do not have quite as familiar ties with this website, but I have been told it is a very good tool to use. Similar to Teamworkonline, you can pick your area geographically, and then you can type in the job you are interested in. Indeed then lets you refine your results based on how much money you want to earn, title, location, etc. If I search “sports sales” in New York, NY, I receive over a 1000 job postings! That is a lot, so if I were you, I would try to narrow the results down. But the good aspect about this website is the variety that is offered.

indeedSift through the website and find a job you think you might like. Job postings from ESPN, NBC, New York Yankees, and Major League Soccer are ones I would be interested in. I see that I might want to work for the Yankees has a open job for group sales, so my search was successful, and then I would look into applying. I want to emphasize how much you should use the advanced search tools. “Sport Sales” is quite a broad topic, and a lot of different job searches might come up, for example working as a cashier in a store. That is not want I want to do, so I would have to narrow to fit my ideal job; it takes just a few clicks of the mouse.

Lastly I just want to mention that going to specific team and company websites help. For example, if I was looking for a job in sales at Madison Square Garden, I would go to their website and find where they post their jobs. It is the same for any other type of sports job you are looking for. If you are interested in working for the Lakers, go to their home page; NBA, NFL, Nets, and others post their open jobs on their website. Research is all it takes. This is a piece of advice I received from someone I was networking with. Explore your options, and do not limit yourself. Also don’t forget that networking is key, and that building relationships is necessary, because that in itself is a great way to find jobs!

 

 

JilianSixsmith-Cox_BioPicJillian Sixsmith-Cox is a senior majoring in Sport Communication, with a focus in Telecommunications. She was born and raised in New York City and currently loving her time in the best college town ever. She loves to travel, hang out with friends and take photos. Her passion is playing sports and she enjoy to making other people laugh.

 

Categories: Career Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

