Menu Home

The Anti-freak out/Graduation Article

I am sitting right now at the Union trying to figure out how to start this article encouraging graduating seniors not to freak out about the future. But, you see, the problem is I am freaking out about my own future. I have no idea what I am planning on doing in less than 4 months. And as January rolls into February my worry grows. So what makes me qualified to sit here and dish out advice IMG_3734like some faceless persona hiding behind a computer screen? Well I guess you could say that my current situation allows me to speak with a candor that a professional might not have. I am going through the same thing that every other senior is going through. Our goals and methods might be different but our vantage point is exactly the same.

 

Unknown-1Like I said before, our graduation is in 4 short months. But think about it, 4 months is a heck of a lot of time in the job search scale. Yeah we have classes, possibly a part time job, a social life to balance but think about how much time you could spend honing in on your interview skills, updating your resume, or applying for your dream jobs. These essential tasks won’t become any easier after you get that diploma so spend some time working on the grunt work of the job search process. Additionally you will feel so much more accomplished after spending your Saturday working on cover letters than spending it on the couch watching season 1 of Scandal for the 3rd time.

 

Another thing that helps me relax about the future is to check my email less throughout the day. I know all of our professors want us to check it at least every hour but checking it so often looking for an email from your dream job will not help you feel any better. I get an email from the Peace Corps about once per week and every single time I let out a very audible squeal. Even though I know it is just for a local event rather than something about my specific application. Only checking my email 2-3 times per day has really helped me not get too excited, and then ultimately let down, when I don’t get the news I was waiting for.

 

Whenever you feel yourself starting to stress out, do what you normally do to relieve stress in your life. Go for a run, eat too much Jiffy Treat, take a long hot shower, or play with the puppies at theUnknown dog store at the mall. Anything that helps you to relax and take a step back from your life will help. But also let yourself stress out a little bit, as a reminder that stress can be a good thing when handled properly. And if all else fails, CAPS is a great service on our campus so don’t be afraid to ask for help. Now I am going to go take a nap on the couches here at the Union and not think too hard about May 9th.

 

Categories: Career Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

