Menu Home

The Importance of Life-Long Learning

The more you read,

The more things you will know.

The more that you learn,

The more places you’ll go.

 -Dr. Seuss

Lifelong-learningIt was super hard for me to decide on a major back when I was in high school. I couldn’t decide between Criminal Justice, Exercise Science, History, Politics, Library Science, English, or Creative Writing. I had (and still do have) a wide variety of interests beyond my chosen academic path. I did eventually settle on Exercise Science, but I think I would have been content with my life if I had chosen a different path.

That, I feel, is the beauty of being a life-long learner. It broadens your horizons and makes you consider alternative paths. It has helped me avoid stagnancy in my relationships, in my academic career, and in my personal life. Because of it, I have never had my heart set on a single career path, only to be disappointed when the job wasn’t there or someone else was hired. Instead, I have grown and stretched myself, trying new things and exploring different subjects and different avenues of income-earning. Because of my commitment to learning, I am slowly delving into the realm of passive income earning, blogging, and entrepreneurship while in graduate school. It is never too early or too late to chase after knowledge.

 

I know you are incredibly busy college students, so here a just a few quick and inexpensive ways to begin making life-long learning a habit:

  1. Find a couple of podcasts that push you to challenge yourself. I like listening to Smart Passive Income by Pat Flynn and The Dave Ramsey Show. I love listening to podcasts as I walk around campus and while I’m waiting for the bus.
  2. Try Audible. For a monthly cost of around $15, you can listen to an audiobook of your choice through the corresponding app. Audible has a huge commit-yourself-to-lifelong-learning-sourceselection of both fiction and non-fiction books from which to choose. For the purpose of learning, I recommend getting nonfiction. 😉 Again, I love listening to this app as I make my way around campus.
  3. Commit to reading just one worthwhile book per month. If you read 10 pages per day, you can get through a 300-page book in one month. If you keep this habit up, you’ll be much, much smarter than almost everyone with whom you come in contact.

 

Best wishes!

 

Miriam23Miriam Boyken is a third-year graduate student at Indiana University. She is currently working toward her Master’s degree in Kinesiology with emphases in Applied Sport Science and Physical Activity, Fitness, & Wellness. She recently started her own personal training business and hopes to grow it by leaps and bounds after she graduates in 2016. She is also happily married and enjoys distance running.

 

Categories: Career Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

