Menu Home

Meet our new Blogger: Amitha!

AMITHA SUNDARAM_BioPicName:Amitha Sundaram

Year: Sophomore

Major: Community Health on the Pre-Med track

Hometown: Carmel, IN

Career Goal: I still have some time to decide, but I hope to get a Masters in Public Health after graduation and then apply to med school. The ultimate goal is to become a doctor and work with non-profit organizations both locally and abroad.
Throughout my years growing up, I’ve always been surrounded by the health sciences. Both my dad and grandpa were doctors and they definitely influenced my interest in becoming a doctor. Through volunteering and shadowing in hospitals throughout high school, I knew I wanted to join the health sciences and help people to my greatest ability.

As I went through high school I got advice from a lot of medical students. All of them always talked about a moment in their lives that influenced their decision to join the medical field. I started to think about what influenced me and I couldn’t think of anything other than my dad inspiring me to follow in his footsteps. I started to re think my decision to be pre med, I thought maybe I was just doing it because that was the only profession I had ever been surrounded by.205257_123330574476486_474246116_n

My initial desire to become a doctor was reaffirmed and I found that moment that all those medical students were talking about when I joined Timmy Global Health and went on a medical service trip to Guatemala. Long story short, Timmy has become a huge part of my life and the relationships I made on that trip have become my inspiration for wanting to become a doctor. Seeing how much the community was helped by our medical care and seeing the long-term effects first hand made the decision for me. Timmy also influenced my decision to become a Community Health major, so I would be able to not only help with primary care, but also with sustainability within communities.

IMG_2450On another note, I also really like watching Netflix and I’m currently binge watching White Collar and Orange is the New Black and I’m always open to new series suggestions. Other fun facts, I love music, seeing music live (had the best experience this summer at Lollapalooza in Chicago!), eating basically everything, spending time with my family and puppy, and traveling. I’m looking forward to keeping up with this blog throughout the year and updating all of you on the different career events in the School of Public Health!

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

