Menu Home

Meet our new Blogger: Shannen

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetShannen Keene

Year: Junior

Major: Community Health

Hometown: Ellettsville, Indiana

Career Goal: I hope to work for a non-profit organization or a health agency in Nashville, TN.

Over the summer, I added Thornton Wilder’s play, Our Town, to my reading list. One quote that remains engraved in my mind is: “Choose the least important day in your life. It will be important enough. Wilder’s powerful quote gave me a fresh perspective on how I should approach my last two years at IU. Even though the days start to mesh together and we inevitably form monotonous routines, every day is meaningful. We need to take advantage of all the resources this school has to offer and realize the importance of each day we have left. I am honored to be a School of Public Health Career Services Blogger so I can help you maximize your potential at Indiana University.

 

Although I cherished my ordinary summer days in Bloomington, the following events added a little “oomph” to my break.

11. I celebrated the Fourth of July in good ‘ole Nashville, TN! I am obsessed with the food and coffee scene in East Nashville. If you’re in the area, I suggest Barista Parlor for coffee and Silly Goose for lunch. I am almost certain my happiness lies in this town, working at a nonprofit and surrounded by its unique glory.

2. I was honored to be apart of Mother Hubbard’s Cupboard’s team as a Nutrition Intern. I spent my days stocking the pantry shelves and attending the gardening hours at the Crestmont Community. I was amazed by the sincerity and kindness of the patrons, staff, volunteers, and interns.The Hub will always hold a special place in heart.3

3. I teamed up with the American Red Cross and coordinated a blood drive at Jiffy Treet. My boss was extremely generous and gave each donor a free item of their choice! What is a better combination than saving lives and ice cream?Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

4. Lastly, I flew by myself to New York for the first time. I saw the folk/blues/pop husband-wife duo, Johnnyswim, at the Bowery Ballroom. The rest of the trip was filled with walks in Central Park, art museums, Filipino food, and wedding dress shopping in Brooklyn for my sister.

 

Now, summer is just a memory… and we are here to tackle the fall semester. I leave you with one last Our Town quote that resonates with me: “Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it?—every, every minute?” I hope that from these blog posts, I can help you realize the importance of action in this critical point in our lives and academic careers.

 

 

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

