Menu Home

Internship Spotlight: NCAA Championships and Alliances Intern

logo-2What was the internship and where was it located?

I was a Championships and Alliances Intern at the NCAA Headquarters located in Indianapolis, IN.

How did you hear about the internship opportunity?

I was introduced to my supervisor through a mutual friend, and was able to talk with my supervisor about creating an internship for me based on the needs of the organization. Generally, the only internships available at the national office are for those who have already finished either their undergrad or graduate degrees.

What was the hiring process like (if there was a formal hiring process)?

Since this was not a typical internship, I did not go through the traditional hiring process. I completed a phone interview with my supervisor and he also looked over my resume.

What were your main responsibilities?

I was in charge of analyzing and formatting bid specifications for all of the NCAA sanctioned sports across of the divisions for their respective championships. In addition, I was in charge of making sure all the bid specifications were uploaded to website, and to make sure all the required information was also inputted in to a bid portal. The bid portal is where the institutions and LOC’s (local organizing committees) submitted bids for to host a championship in their city.

What was the best part of your experience?

The best part of my experience was learning the process of running a championship, from the governing body side. I never knew what it actually took to set up a championship, so that the student-athletes would have a great experience.

What was the most important thing you learned while completing this internship?

The most important thing I learned while completing my internship is to network as much as possible within the organization. I had to opportunity to make connections with some of the 2012-2013 interns, which I know will benefit me in the future. Also, at the NCAA I was able to meet Athletic Directors and others through a “networking” event at the headquarters.

Based on what your learned and your overall experience, what advice would you share with your peers?

My advice would be to never be afraid to ask questions. I learned a lot by asking questions even if they were unrelated to my internship or the department I worked in. Also, network during your internship, especially if it is your first internship. This gives you the opportunity to develop relationships that will help you in the future.

What are you up to next?

I will be graduating in December 2013, and I am currently applying for jobs and post-graduate internships.

Student Bio:

My name is Lindsay Duff, I am a senior and will be finishing my undergraduate education this December. My major is Sport Soror Lindsay DuffMarketing and Management with minors in both Business and Marketing.  The only internship I have completed was with the NCAA in the Championships and Alliances Department. Aside from the internship, I have volunteered with USA Track and Field for their Paralympic Trials at IUPUI during Summer 2012.  Also, during that summer I volunteered with the annual Youthlinks Indiana Charity Golf Tournaments. Both of the internships were great opportunities to network within the sports industry.  As of right now I am currently applying for jobs and post-graduate internships.

Categories: Internship Spotlights Internships

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

