Menu Home

Meet Georgia! (one of our new student bloggers)

Georgia Roundergeorgia3

Junior

Major: Dietetics

Hometown: Evansville, IN

Career Goal: Ultimately, I want to open up my own dietetics private practice in a big city such as Chicago or Los Angeles.

Ever since my freshman year of high school, I have always been passionate about the health sciences and knew that I was destined for a career in helping others become the best versions of themselves through nutrition and fitness education! Being a born-and-raised Hoosier, with both of my parents having attended Indiana University, I knew this great school would be the best fit for me to pursue my future career goals while also challenging me socially and creatively.

georgiaAs soon as I set foot on this campus my freshman year, I committed to being a Dietetics major in the School of Public Health, opening myself up to the endless opportunities the School’s faculty and staff offer students in the Applied Health Science Department. Throughout my first two years here, I have already been able to grow tremendously as person, in part due to the variety of classes I have been able to take, the people I have met, and the independence I have gained as a college student.

This past summer, I was fortunate enough to have the chance to apply the skills I have gained in college to an internship in Chicago with a dietitian in private practice. Given that I hope to open my own practice one day to provide nutrition counseling to the public, this invaluable experience exposed me to a very unique side of dietetics in terms of seeing the practical application of what I am learning every day at Indiana University, as well as exposing me to the business side of running one’s own private practice.

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

