Menu Home

Meet Matthew! (one of our new student bloggers)

Matthew Wolfe

Senior

Major: Sports CommunicationMatt

Hometown: Syosset, NY

Career Goal: I hope to work in sports PR in New York City.

Throughout the entirety of my life there has always been one constant fixation that I have been passionate about, and that is sports.  Whether it is participating in them, watching them or writing about them, I have never been able to get enough.  That is why this summer I took an internship in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina with The Ripken Experience, a youth baseball facility that plays host to 10 weeklong tournaments and roughly 600 teams every summer.

During my internship, I was able to blend two of my favorite things together, sports and communicating with others.  The main focus of my internship was in broadcast communication, sitting in the press box everyday announcing little league games.  I got to pick their walk up music and handle in between inning promotions, essentially every young sports fans dream.  I had an amazing time doing it, and luckily for me it was in one of the most beautiful and fun places in the entire country.

Matt group ShotAside from sports, I am also a huge movie and television fanatic.  I see every movie, and watch as many television shows as I can fit into my schedule.  I appreciate a good comedy more than anything, my favorite movies being all of the Austin Powers and Wedding Crashers.  My favorite television shows are Homeland and The League.

I hope to eventually find a job where I can combine my passion for sports and knack for communicating with people, whether it is through my writing or my voice.  Being from New York, I have always wanted to go back home and find employment there after college.  I love New York City, and envision myself spending my post-college life there.

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

