Menu Home

Meet Sarah! (one of our new student bloggers)

Sarah Purpura

Seniorsarah zip line

Major: Dietetics

Hometown: Wauwatosa, WI

Career Goal: I hope to become a Registered Dietitian and to work to promote healthy living in a community setting.

Hello friends!  My name is Sarah and I am thrilled to be able write for the School of Public Health Careers Services Blog!  I am on my fourth and final lap here at IU and I have enjoyed my time being involved with the School of Public Health and Indiana University as a whole.  I am from a suburb of Milwaukee, WI called Wauwatosa.  Two of my favorite meals are Mac ‘n Cheese and Grilled Cheese (of course, since I am going to be a dietitian, I would highly recommend making each dish with whole grain pasta and whole wheat bread respectively).

For the past two summers I have been able to explore two of my passions – youth ministry and cooking.  I served as a camp counselor in Green Lake, WI, working with both middle school and high school youth.  I was able to work alongside a chef in a dining facility that serves both small sarah color rungroups of people (i.e. 30-50 people) and large groups of nearly 800 people.  Someday I hope to combine those two passions, and work as a dietitian, promoting healthy choices and the love of food to children in schools and in their surrounding communities.

When I am not writing for the blog, you can find me studying, preparing for my Dietetic Internship and knitting.  I love to knit!  Last year I served as the treasurer for the Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics – IU, and this year I will be returning as their webmaster.  I am excited to help connect School of Public Health students with the SPH Office of Career Services.  My hope is that through these blog posts you will be able to keep up to date on everything that is going on in Career Services, and be inspired to come take advantage of the great services and opportunities we have to offer!

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

