Menu Home

Meet Jenny! (one of our new student bloggers)

Jenny Agostino

SeniorJenny

Major: Dietetics

Hometown: South Bend, IN

Career Goal: I hope to become a Registered Dietitian and work with kids.

You always think you can easily describe yourself until someone actually asks you to do it, so here is my attempt. My name is Jenny. People often associate my name with the movie Forrest Gump, which for the longest time I had never seen causing me to be confused as to why people always pronounced my name with an extra emphasis at the end. I am short and come from a loud Italian family although I am far from being loud. I came to IU about three years ago pursuing a degree in nursing, but then after taking a class in nutrition I decided I had to change my major to Dietetics.

Outside of school, I love to volunteer throughout the Bloomington community at places such as the Wonderlab or the IU Janny2hilltop garden. Volunteering is a wonderful hands on learning experience for me where I truly feel like I have made some sort of difference. Besides volunteering, I work as a student supervisor for RPS dining services at Eigenmann. Eigenmann is much smaller than the other dining halls on campus and because of this, all of the employees are very close knit, like a family.

School, work, and volunteering all keep me busy, but I try my best to make sure I have some free time to relax.  In this free time I enjoy hanging out with my friends, watching movies, and making ice cream. I also love being active by running and hiking.  As a person, I am very laid back but do not let anything get in the way of my goals. Running cross country in high school helped me develop a mentality that never allows me to stop half way. Now I can use that to aid me through every life goal. Being a senior at IU, I can use everything that I have learned so far to communicate with other students in the School of Public Health on what they can do to build their own personal careers.

Categories: Blogger Introductions

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

