Menu Home

Undecided? Consider Safety Science

My name is Greg Schillo and I am currently in my final semester in the School of Public Health, majoring in Safety. Being a student at Indiana University has been the best experience of my life thus far and it has been a privilege to be associated with such a first-class institution.

For those students who are not sure about their respected career path yet, I highly encourage you to look into a career in Environmental Health and Safety. I make this recommendation because this field is in great demand. Huge corporations and businesses—whether the industry be in manufacturing, construction, insurance, or healthcare—design health and safety programs to protect their employees from injuries and other workplace illnesses. Companies are obligated to do this because government agencies such as Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) implement and enforce laws so the workplace is safe for our population. In addition, keeping a company’s employees safe is important because they are the organization’s most valued asset, and having a below-average safety and health program can be extremely costly. Future safety and health management leaders are hired to regulate, implement, train and develop counter-measures for companies so they can provide a safe and healthy workplace and ultimately reduce costs. For individuals who like interacting with people frequently on a daily basis, helping people, and problem-solving, a career in Safety and Health might be a good route to explore.

Indiana University’s Safety and Health program has provided all the tools and resources I need to succeed. Along with a great staff, IU has an American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) student chapter on campus. This organization is well-known nationwide and helps individuals in my field to communicate and develop valuable professional relationships. Currently, I am the editor of the student chapter and holding this position has opened many doors for me career-wise. If you do choose to pursue a career in safety and health, joining ASSE is an absolute must. Organizations and companies use ASSE as a recruiting resource to hire young talent in my field and it worked for me. With over three months left in my tenure at IU, I can finally breathe easy because I have already accepted a full-time position with a $25 billion company that is one of the world’s largest building supply, paper and chemical manufacturers. How did I get this job one might ask? ASSE is the sole reason I got on this company’s radar. Additionally, not only have I accepted a great job, but I have gained many friends during my membership in ASSE. Communicating and building relationships is a huge benefit of staying involved with your campus.

If you enjoyed my story and you are intrigued, talk to your advisor about majoring in Safety Science. You will not regret it, I sure haven’t!

Image

Categories: Career Advice

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

Leave a Reply

