Menu Home

Find Your Passion

Julia Child

by Kaleigh Bacher

“Find something you are passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.” -Julia Child

Using Julia Child’s advice, I have been able to create a couple of unique internships for myself. I was hired as a summer intern for two companies, the Indiana ICE, a hockey team located in Indianapolis and Falco Ink, an entertainment public relations firm based in New York City. Both summers, I was able to create unique internship opportunities that allowed me to separate myself from other interns. I was able to distinguish myself because I voiced ideas about aspects of the industry in which I was interested. In both cases, I went from being one of the summer interns to being the social media intern. Taking the initiative has made me feel better prepared for life after Indiana University. I have a confidence that I am able to bring something else to the table when I interview with potential employers because I have real work examples in my portfolio.

The summer before my junior year, I was asked to create a Facebook fan page for the ICE cheerleaders. What was assigned as a one-time task became something that I worked at every day in order to develop fan engagement. My passion for social media created an experience that was my own. My boss was impressed that something he thought would take all week long was completed by lunchtime. My work was rewarded with his trust to create two more Facebook pages and with the added responsibility of monitoring our Twitter account.

This summer, I read a few articles online about brands using Pinterest. As an avid Pinterest user, I was very interested in seeing how this could be used for the entertainment PR firm for which I am currently interning. Since we work with mostly independent films, it seemed that the mainly visual aspect of Pinterest would work well. The next day, I asked our Social Media Coordinator if they had considered using Pinterest to promote the films. I shared some of my ideas and she suggested that I schedule a meeting with the owners of the company and herself. Since then, I am included in conference calls and meetings because I took the initiative to find a unique way to benefit the company.

What’s your passion? By following your passion, you can create an opportunity for yourself that makes your resume stand out from the rest!

Guest Contributor: Kaleigh Bacher is a senior from Indianapolis majoring in Sport Communication-Print with a focus in sports public relations and a Spanish minor. Currently, she has an internship with the IU Athletic Department and the Indianapolis Colts. Most recently, Bacher interned for Falco Ink, an entertainment public relations firm in New York City. Previous internships include the Indiana Ice and the Western & Southern Financial Group Masters Tournament in addition to working with IU Media Relations. All of her internships were found through the assistance of HPER Career Services and networking with IU alumni. Bacher is the 2012 recipient of the HPER Alumni Board Scholarship and a member of the HPER Dean’s Undergraduate Student Council. 

Kaleigh Bacher

Categories: Internships

Tagged as:

IUSPH Career Services

Job opportunities for Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington majors are diverse and expanding as the emphasis on living a healthy lifestyle grows around the world. Career Services experts in each of our academic departments will provide one-on-one counseling and career building opportunities throughout your academic career, from choosing the right major to developing a strategy to find a job. They can assist you with:

•career counseling
•internships
•job placement
•volunteer opportunities
•resume and cover letter preparation
•interview skills
•networking
•graduate school preparation

1 reply

  1. Your motto to seek what you love and pursue it is one that I practice daily. I started off, in the business of launching new products and now I am a professional hair salon trainer and I love what I do. Even though, it took more than 10 years to realize that hair salon training is what I love to do, I don’t mind that it took me so long, because I learned valuable skills along the way. I was once told that when you do something you have interest in; there is no way you can fail and every day I see the truth in the statement. So I congratulate you on not just being another intern, but going after something you have so much love for.

Leave a Reply

